Lupus Federal Working Group Roster

Updated March 28, 2012

DHHS Members

Shashi G. Amur
Senior Staff Fellow, Genomics
Office of Clinical Pharmacology
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Food and Drug Administration
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Room 4527, Building 21
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
Tel: 301-796-1631
Fax: 301-796-9738
Email: shashi.amur@fda.hhs.gov

Frances E. Ashe-Goins, R.N., M.P.H.
Acting Director
U.S. DHHS Office of Women's Health
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 728E
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-690-6373
Fax: 202-401-4005
Email: Frances.Ashe-Goins@hhs.gov

Lisa Begg, Ph.D., R.N.
Director of Research Programs
Office of Research on Women's Health
Office of the Director, NIH/DHHS
6707 Democracy Blvd., Suite 400
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-7853
Fax: 301-402-1798
Email: beggl@od.nih.gov

Branden Brough, Ph.D.
Program Analyst, Office of Science Policy, Planning and Communications
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 4C13
Bethesda, MD 20892-2350
Tel: 301-496-8271
Email: broughb@mail.nih.gov

Penny Wung Burgoon, Ph.D.
Director, Salivary Biology and Immunology Program
Integrative Biology & Infectious Diseases Branch
NIH/NIDCR
6701 Democracy Blvd., Room 620
Bethesda, MD 20817
Tel: 301-594-4825
Email: burgoonp@nidcr.nih.gov

Justine Buschman, M.S.
Health Science Analyst
Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
NIH/DHHS
One Democracy Plaza
6701 Democracy Blvd.
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-4811
Fax: 301-480-1284
Email: buschmanj@mail.nih.gov

Robert Carter, M.D.
Deputy Director, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, MSC 2350
Bethesda, MD 20892-2350
Tel: 301-496-3651
Email: carterrob@mail.nih.gov

Rich Clark
Writer/Editor, Office of Science Policy, Planning and Communications
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, MSC 2350
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-8190
Email: clarkr@mail.nih.gov

Janine Clayton, M.D.
Acting Director, Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH)
Office of the Director
National Institutes of Health
Department of Health and Human Services
6707 Democracy Blvd., Suite 400
MSC 5484
Bethesda, MD 20892-5484
Tel: 301.402.1770
Email: Janine.Clayton@nih.gov

Denise Geolot, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Director
Center for Quality
Health Resources Services Administration DHHS
5600 Fishers Lane 7-100
Rockville, MD 20857
Tel: 301-443-0458
Email: Denise.Geolot@hrsa.hhs.gov

Ellen Goldmuntz, M.D.
Medical Officer, Division of Allergy, Immunology and Transplantation
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH/DHHS
6610 Rockledge Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-2520
Tel: 301-496-1886
Fax: 301-496-4409
Email: goldmuntz@niaid.nih.gov

Garth Graham
Deputy Asst. Secretary for Minority Health
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Health,
OS/HHS,
Tel: 240-453-2882
Email: garth.graham@hhs.gov

Gilman Grave, M.D.
Chief, Endocrinology, Nutrition and Growth Branch
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development NIH/DHHS
6100 Executive Blvd., Room 4B11A
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 301-496-5593
Fax: 301-480-9791
Email: graveg@mail.nih.gov

Steve Hausman, Ph.D.
Contractor, Office of the Director
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, MSC 2350
Bethesda, MD 20892-2350
Tel: 301-402-1691
Fax: 301-402-3607
Email: hausmans@mail.nih.gov

Suzanne Haynes, Ph.D.
Senior Science Advisor
The Office on Women's Health, DHHS
200 Independence Avenue, SW Room 712E
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-205-2623
Fax: 202-205-2631
Email: Suzanne.haynes@hhs.gov

Charles G. (Chad) Helmick, M.D.
Captain, U.S. Public Health Service
Medical Epidemiologist, Arthritis Program Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
4770 Buford Hwy, K51
Atlanta, GA 30341
Tel: 770-488-5464       
Fax: 770-488-5486
Email: CHelmick@cdc.gov

Michael C. Humble, Ph.D.
Program Administrator
Cellular, Organs and Systems Pathobiology Branch
Division of Extramural Research and Training
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
530 Davis Drive
Keystone Building, Room 3036
Mail Drop K3-15
Research Triangle Park, NC  27560
Tel:  919-316-4621
Email:  humble@niehs.nih.gov

David Johnson
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH/DHHS
1522 Harrington Drive
South Bend, IN 46637
Tel: 301-591-0907
Email: drjohnson@niaid.nih.gov

Stephen Katz, M.D., Ph.D. (Chair)
Director, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, MSC 2350
Bethesda, MD 20892-2350
Tel: 301-496-4543
Fax: 301-480-6069
Email: skatz@mail.nih.gov

Ruth Kirby, R.N.
Clinical Trials Specialist, Atherothrombosis and Coronary Artery Disease
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute NIH/DHHS
Tel: 301-435-0550
Email: kirbyr@nhlbi.nih.gov

Kim Kurilla-Gray
Office of Research on Women's Health OD/NIH/DHHS
Two Democracy Plaza, Suite 400
6707 Democracy Blvd., MSC 5484
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-0706
Fax: 301-402-1798
Email: grayk@od.nih.gov

Tamara Lewis-Johnson, M.B.A., M.P.H.
Women's Health Program Manager
Office of Special Populations and Research Training (OSPRT), DEA
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH/DHHS
Room 2104
6700-B Rockledge Drive, MSC 7610
Bethesda, MD 20892-7610
Tel: 301-451-7942
Fax: 301-496-8729
Email: lewisjohnsont@niaid.nih.gov

Anita Linde, M.P.P.
Director, Office of Science Policy, Planning and Communications
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, MSC 2350
Building 31, Room 4C13
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-451-4851
Email: lindea@mail.nih.gov

Mimi Lising, M.P.H.
Writer/Editor, Office of Science Policy, Planning and Communications
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
NIH/DHHS
Tel: 301-496-8190
Fax: 301-480-2814
Email: lisingm@mail.nih.gov

Kathryn Marron, Ph.D.
Health Science Analyst
Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
NIH/DHHS
One Democracy Plaza
6701 Democracy Blvd.
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-402-4735
Fax: 301-480-1284
Email: marronk@mail.nih.gov

Melanie Martinez. M.P.A.
Public Liaison, Office of Science Policy, Planning and Communications
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, MSC 2350
Bethesda, MD 20892-2350
Tel: 301-451-4827
Fax: 301-480-6069
Email: martinme@mail.nih.gov

Joan McGowan, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
One Democracy Plaza, Suite 864
MSC 4872
6701 Democracy Blvd.
Bethesda, MD 20892-4872
Tel: 301-594-5055
Fax: 301-480-1284
Email: joan_mcgowan@nih.gov

Barbara Mittleman, M.D.
Director
Public-Private Partnership Program
Office of Science Policy
Office of the Director, NIH/DHHS
9000 Rockville Pike
Building 1, Room 218
MSC 0166
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-594-6058
Fax: 301-402-0280
Email: mittlemb@mail.nih.gov

Melinda Nelson
Chief, Grants Management Branch
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
NIH/DHHS
One Democracy Plaza, Suite 838
6701 Democracy Blvd.
MSC 4872
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-594-3535
Fax: 301-480-5450
Email: nelson1@mail.nih.gov

Deborah Olster, Ph.D.
Acting Director, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
Office of the Director, NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, Room B1C19 (MSC 2027)
Bethesda, MD 20892-2027
Tel: 301-402-1148

John O'Shea, Ph.D.
Scientific Director
Office of the Scientific Director
Intramural Research Program
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, NIH/DHHS
Building 10-Magnuson CC, 6N204
10 Center Drive
MSC 1616
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-2612
Fax: 301-402-0012
Email: osheajo@mail.nih.gov

Ameeta Parekh, Ph.D.
Director, Research and Development
Office of Women's Health
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Tel: 301-827-0350
Email: Ameeta.parekh@fda.hhs.gov

Carol Pontzer, Ph.D.
Program Officer
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, NIH/DHHS
Two Democracy Plaza
6707 Democracy Blvd.
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-435-6286
Fax: 301-435-6549
Email: pontzerc@mail.nih.gov

Jamila R. Rashid, Ph.D., M.P.H.
HHS, OS, OMH
Tel: 240-453-6154
Email: Jamila.Rashid@hhs.gov

Louise Rosenbaum, Ph.D.
Science Policy Analyst, Office of Science Policy, Planning and Communications
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
31 Center Drive, Room 4C13
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-451-4832
Email: rosenbauml@mail.nih.gov

John Ruffin, Ph.D.
Director
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities, NIH/DHHS
6707 Democracy Blvd.
Suite 800
Bethesda, MD 20892-5465
Tel: 301-402-1366
Fax: 301-402-7040
Email: ruffinj@ncmhd.nih.gov

Susan V.L. Sanders, M.S.A.
Public Health Advisor
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office on Women's Health
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 733E
Washington, D.C. 20201
Tel: 202-690-5414
Email: susan.russell@hhs.gov

Susana Serrate-Sztein, M.D.
Director, Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
One Democracy Plaza
6701 Democracy Blvd.
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-594-5032
Fax: 301-480-1284
Email: szteins@mail.nih.gov

Jeffrey Siegel, M.D.
Team Leader, Immunology and Infectious Diseases Team
Division of Biological Internal Medicine Products
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research FDA, DHHS
1401 Rockville Pike
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 301-827-5149
Fax: 301-827-5394
Email: jeffrey.siegel@fda.hhs.gov

Janine Smith, M.D.
Deputy Clinical Director
National Eye Institute, NIH/DHHS
10 Center Drive
Building 10, Room 10S229
Bethesda, MD 20892-1863
Tel: 301-496-9058
Fax: 301-496-7295
Email: smithj@nei.nih.gov

Lisa Spain
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, NIH/DHHS
6707 Democracy Blvd
Bethesda, MD 20892
Email: spainl@niddk.nih.gov

Robyn DiLiello
Chief, Financial Management Branch
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases NIH/DHHS
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-5521
Fax: 301-480-5652
Email: diliellor@mail.nih.gov

Retta Terry
Office on Women's Health
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-205-1952
Email: Henrietta.terry@hhs.gov

Amanda Trayer
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, NIH/DHHS
Two Democracy Plaza
6707 Democracy Blvd.
Bethesda, MD 20892

Ursula Utz, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NIH/DHHS
6001 Executive Blvd., Room 2134
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-1431
Fax: 301-480-2424
Email: utzu@ninds.nih.gov

Professional Organizations Members and
Patient Advocacy Organizations Members

Kathleen Arntsen
President and CEO
Lupus Foundation of Mid and Northern New York, Inc.
P.O. Box 139
Utica, NY 13503
Tel: 315-829-4272
Fax: 315-829-4272
Email: lupuskaa@aol.com or lupusmidny@aol.com
Website: www.nolupus.org

Ms. Barrie Atkin
Rheuminations/Lupus Clinical Trials Consortium
221 East 48 th Street, 2 nd Floor
New York, NY 10017
Tel: 212-593-5180

Ken Farber
President, Alliance for Lupus Research (ALR)
28 West 44 th Street, Suite 501
New York, NY 10036
Tel: 212-218-2840
Fax: 212-218-2848

Mary Crimmings
VP of Marketing, Communications and Advocacy
Lupus Foundation of America, Inc.
2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 710
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-349-1169
Email: crimmings@lupus.org
Website: www.lupus.org

Peggy Crow, M.D.
Benjamin M. Rosen Chair in Immunology and Inflammation Research
Professor of Medicine
Director of Rheumatology Research and
Autoimmunity and Inflammation Program
Hospital for Special Surgery
535 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021
Tel: 212-606-1397
Email: crowm@hss.edu

Margaret G. Dowd
President, Lupus Research Institute
330 Seventh Avenue, Suite 1701
New York, NY 10001
Tel: 212-685-4118
Fax: 212-545-1843
Email: dowd@lupusny.org

Ken Farber
Executive Director
Alliance for Lupus Research
28 W. 44 th Street, Suite 501
New York, NY 10036
Tel: 212-218-2840

Elesha Gayman Shahinllari
Senior Director of Government Relations and Public Policy
Lupus Foundation of America, Inc.
2000 L. Street, N.W., Suite 710
Washington, DC  20036
Direct Line: 202-349-1150
Email: Shahinllari@lupus.org

Diomaris Gonzalez
Coordinator of Research Administration
Alliance for Lupus Research
28 W. 44 th Street, Suite 501
New York, NY 10036
Tel: 212-218-2840
Email: dgonzalez@lupusresearch.org

Leslie Hanrahan
Vice President, Education and Research
Lupus Foundation of America, Inc.
2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 710
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-349-1175
Fax: 202-349-1156
Email: Hanrahan@lupus.org

John Hardin
Chief Scientific Officer
Arthritis Foundation
National Office
1330 West Peachtree Street
Atlanta, GA 30309
Tel: 404-965-7521
Fax: 404-872-8694
Email: johnhardin@arthritis.org

Brent Jaquet
Lupus Research Institute
330 Seventh Avenue
New York, NY 10001
Tel: 202-484-1100
Email: bjaquet@dc-crd.com

John Klippel, M.D.
President and CEO, Arthritis Foundation
1330 W. Peachtree Street, Suite 100
Atlanta, GA 30309

Anna Malafis
Administrative Coordinator
Rheuminations, Inc.
142 W 57th St., Suite 15A
New York, NY 10019
Tel:  212-593-5180
Fax:  212-803-0059

Sandra C. Raymond
President and CEO
Lupus Foundation of America, Inc.
2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 710
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-349-1144
Fax: 202-349-1156
Email: Raymond@lupus.org

lesha Shahinllari
Senior Director of Government Relations and Public Policy
Lupus Foundation of America, Inc.
2000 L. Street, N.W., Suite 710
Washington, DC  20036
Direct Line: 202-349-1150

Katherine M. Snider
Rheuminations/Lupus Clinical Trials Consortium
221 East 48 th Street, 2 nd Floor
New York, NY 10017
Tel: 212-593-5180
Email: Ksnider@rheuminations.org
or katherine.snider@lupus-consortium.org

William St. Clair
Representative, American College of Rheumatology
Duke University Medical Center
DUMC 3874
Durham, NC 27710

Julie A. Venners
Vice President, Government Relations
Lupus Foundation of America, Inc.
2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 710
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-349-1144
Fax: 202-349-1156