Meeting Reports 2002

Workshop on the Burden of Skin Diseases Participant Roster

September 4-5, 2002 (historical)

Deborah Ader, Ph.D.*
Director, Behavioral and Prevention Research Program
Extramural Program
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
6701 Democracy Boulevard, Suite 800
Bethesda, MD 20872-4872
Phone: (301) 594-5032
Fax: (301) 480-4543
aderd@mail.nih.gov

Maryam Asgari, M.D.
Acting Instructor
University of Washington Medical Center
5807 Latona Avenue, Northeast
Seattle, WA 98105
Phone: (202) 543-5290
Fax: (202) 543-2489
masgari@u.washington.edu

Rajesh Balkrishnan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Brooks Scholar
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Departments of Dermatology and Public
Health Sciences
2000 West First Street
Piedmont Plaza II, 2nd Floor
Winston-Salem, NC 27104
Phone: (336) 716-9213
Fax: (336) 716-7554
rbalkris@wfubmc.edu

Wilma Fowler Bergfeld, M.D.
Head, Clinical Research and Staff and Dermatology
Cleveland Clinic
9500 Euclid Avenue, A61
Cleveland, OH 44195-5032
Phone: (216) 444-5722
Fax: (216) 231-5448
bergfew@ccf.org

Martin Brown, Ph.D.
Chief, Health Services & Economics
National Cancer Institute
6130 Executive Boulevard EPN-4005
Applied Research Program, NCI
Bethesda, MD 20892-7344
Phone: 301-496-5716
Fax: 301-435-3710
mb53o@nih.gov

Vicki L. Burt, SCM RN
Chief, Planning Branch
National Health & Nutrition Examination Survey
National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
6525 Belcrest Road, Room 1000
Hyattsville, MD 20782
Phone: (301) 458-4127
Fax: (301) 458-4028
vlb2@cdc.gov

Sarah L. Chamlin, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Dermatology
Children's Memorial Hospital
2300 Children's Plaza, Box 107
Chicago, IL 60614
Phone: (773) 880-6948
Fax: (773) 880-3025
schamlin@childrensmemorial.org

Suephy C. Chen, M.D., M.S.
Assistant Professor of Dermatology
Emory University
5001 Woodruff Memorial Building
1639 Pierce Drive
Atlanta, GA 30322
Phone: (404) 712-9660
Fax: (404) 788-5395
schen@ecor.cardio.emory.edu; suehy@hotmail.com

Mary-Margaret Chren, M.D.*
Associate Professor in Residence
University of California at San Francisco
San Francisco VAMC190
4150 Clement Street
San Francisco, CA 94121
Phone: (415) 221-4810 ext. 3982
Fax: (415) 751-3927
mmchren@itsa.ucsf.edu

Richard Clark, M.D.
Professor, Chair
SUNY Stony Brook - Dermatology
HSC T-16, 060
Stony Brook, NY 11794-8165
Phone: (631) 444-3894
Fax: (631) 444-3844
richard.clark@sunysb.edu

Shelley Diamond, M.A.*
Board of Directors
National Eczema Assocation For Science & Education
1461 12th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122
Phone: (415) 564-8255
Fax: (415) 564-3403
SFDiamond@prodigy.net

Lynn Drake, M.D.
Harvard Medical School
Department of Dermatology
Massachusetts General Hospital
40 Blossom Street, BAR 604
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 726-7757
Fax: (617) 726-1033
drake@helix.mgh.harvard.edu

Alison Ehrlich, M.D.
Assistant Professor
George Washington University Medical Center
MFA/ Department of Dermatology, 6A-402
2150 Pennsylvania Avenue, Northwest
Washington, DC 20037
Phone: (202) 741-2627
Fax: (202) 741-2622
aehrlich@mfa.gwu.edu

Steven Feldman, M.D., Ph.D.*
Professor of Dermatology, Pathology & Public Healt
Wake Forest University
School of Medicine
Department of Dermatology
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1071
Phone: (336) 716-7740
Fax: (336) 716-7732
sfeldman@wfubmc.edu

Philip Fleckman, M.D.*
Professor of Medicine (Dermatology)
University of Washington
Dermatology, Box 356524
1959 Northeast Pacific Street
Seattle, WA 98195-6524
Phone: (206) 543-7490
Fax: (206) 543-2489
fleck@u.washington.edu

Alan B. Fleischer, M.D.
Professor and Acting Chair of Dermatology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Phone: (336) 716-7753
Fax: (336) 716-7732
afleisch@wfubmc.edu

Irwin M. Freedberg, M.D., Workshop Chair*
Professor and Chair Department of Dermatology
New York University Medical School
560 First Avenue, Room H100
New York, NY 10016-6451
Phone: (212) 263-5245
Fax: (212) 263-8752
irwin.freedberg@med.nyu.edu

Joel Gelfand, M.D.
Fellow
University of Pennsylvania
3600 Spruce Street
2 Maloney Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: (215) 614-0635
Fax: (215) 615-0047
joel.gelfand@uphs.upenn.edu

Dean Jamison, Ph.D.
Senior Fellow
Fogarty International Center
National Institutes of Health
16 Center Drive
Building 16, Room 202
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-402-8654
Fax: 301-496-8496
jamisond@mail.nih.gov

Marie-Louise Johnson, M.D., Ph.D.
Clinical Professor of Dermatology
Yale University School of Medicine
Department of Dermatology
15 Strawberry Bank Road
High Falls, NY 12440
Phone: (845) 687-0404
Fax: (845) 687-2344
marielouisej@aol.com

Vicki Kalabokes *
President & Chiel Executive Officer
National Alopecia Areata Foundation
14 Mitchell Boulevard
San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone: (415) 472-3780
Fax: (415) 472-5343
vicki@naaf.org

Stephen Katz, M.D., Ph.D.
Director
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
31 Center Drive, MSC 2350
Building 31, Room 4C32
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: (301) 496-4353
Fax: 301-402-3607
katzs@mail.nih.gov

Reva Lawrence, M.P.H.*
Epidemiology Program Officer
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
One Democracy Plaza
6701 Democracy Boulevard, Suite 800
MSC 4872
Bethesda, MD 20892-4872
Phone: (301) 594-5014
Fax: (301) 480-4543
lawrencr@mail.nih.gov

Gerald Lazarus, M.D.
Professor of Dermatology
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
2010 Bennett Point Road
Queenstown, MD 21658
Phone: (410) 827-9450
Fax: (410) 827-7589
glazaru1@jhmi.edu; lazaruspumc@hotmail.com

Boris Lushniak, M.D., M.P.H.*
Medical Officer
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
National Institute For Occupational Safety and Health
4676 Columbia Columbia Parkway, R-12
Cincinnati, OH 45226
Phone: (513) 841-4503
Fax: (513) 841-4483
blushniak@cdc.gov

David Margolis, M.D., Ph.D.*
Associate Professor
University of Pennsylvania
815 Blockey Hall
423 Guardian Drive
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6021
Phone: (215) 573-7223
Fax: (215) 573-5315
dmargoli@cceb.med.upenn.edu

Wendy Max, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of California, San Francisco
Institute for Health and Aging
1400 Arcadia Place
Palo Alto, CA 94303
Phone: (415) 476-8023
Fax: (415) 476-3915
wmax@itsa.ucsf.edu

Alan N. Moshell, M.D.*
Branch Chief, Skin Diseases Program
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
6701 Democracy Boulevard, Suite 800
Bethesda, MD 20892-4872
Phone: (301) 594-5017
Fax: (301) 480-4543
moshella@.nih.gov

Peter Muennig, M.D., M.P.H.
Sophie Davis Medical School at CUNY
228 East 13th Street, Suite 4
New York, NY 10003
Phone: (212) 473-9514
petermuennig@yahoo.com

Geraldine Pollen, M.A.*
Research Activities Coordinator, Extramural Program
National Institute of Arthritis and
Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
6701 Democracy Boulevard, Suite 800
Bethesda, MD 20892-4872
Phone: (301) 451-9893
Fax: (301) 480-4543
polleng@mail.nih.gov

Abrar Qureshi, M.D.
Clinical Research Fellow
Massachusetts General Hospital
Harvard Medical School
Partners Telemedicine
One Longfellow Place, Suite 216
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 724-5517
Fax: (617) 228-4634
aqureshi@partners.org

Stephen Rapp, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral
Wake Forest University
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
1 Medical Center Blvd.
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Phone: (336) 716-6995
Fax: (336) 716-6830
srapp@wfubmc.edu

Dorothy P. Rice, ScD. (HON)
Professor Emeritus
University of California, San Francisco
Institute for Health and Aging
3333 California, Room 340
San Francisco, CA 94118
Phone: (415) 476-2771
Fax: (415) 502-5208
rice@itsa.ucsf.edu

Tara Rolstad, M.B.A.*
Director of Research
National Psoriasis Foundation
6600 Southwest 92nd Avenue, #300
Portland, OR 97223
Phone: (503) 546-8367
Fax: (503) 245-4663
tara@npfusa.org

James Schuttinga, Ph.D.*
Economist
National Institutes of Health
Office of the Director
Building 1, Room 218, MSC 0166
9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: (301) 496-2229
Fax: (301) 402-0280
js41z@nih.gov

Scott Sicherer, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Mount Saini School of Medicine
Department of Pediatrics
Division of Allergy & Immunology, Box 1198
One Gustave L. Levy Place
New York, NY 10029
Phone: (212) 241-5548
Fax: (212) 426-1902
scott.sicherer@mssm.edu

Claire Snyder, M.H.S.
Health Services Researcher
National Cancer Institute
1900 Thames Street
Apartment 206
Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone: (410) 732-7113
snyderc@mail.nih.gov

Robert Stern, M.D.*
Professor
Harvard Medical School, BIDMC
330 Brookline Avenue
Brookline, MA 02445
Phone: (617) 667-4995
Fax: (617) 667-4948
rstern@caregroup.harvard.edu

Sharon Terry, M.A.*
Executive Director
PXE International
4301 Connecticut Avenue, Northwest, Suite 404
Washington, DC 20008-2304
Phone: (202) 362-9599
Fax: (301) 545-1976
sterry@pxe.org

Robyn Thomas, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Information
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
7500 Security Blvd.
Mailstop N3-17-07
Baltimore, MD 21244
Phone: (410) 786-6063
RThomas@cms.hhs.gov

Marta VanBeek, M.D.
Fellow, Dermatoepidemiology
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
200 Hawkins Drive, Room BT2105
Iowa City, IA 52242-1090
Phone: (319) 384-6844
Fax: (319) 356-8317
marta-vanbeek@uiowa.edu

Martin Weinstock, M.D., Ph.D.*
Professor of Dermatology
Brown University
Dermatoepidemiology Unit
VA Medical Center - 111D
830 Chalkstone Avenue
Providence, RI 02806
Phone: (401) 457-3333
Fax: (401) 457-3332
maw@brown.edu

Vicky Holets Whittemore, Ph.D.*
Senior Scientific Advisor
Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance
PO Box 3784
Crofton, MD 21114
Phone: (410) 721-2615
Fax: (410) 721-2815
vhwhittemore@aol.com

LaDonna Williams*
Executive Director
Inflammatory Skin Disease Institute
P.O. Box 1074
Newport News, VA 23601
Phone: (757) 223-0795, ext. 6321
Fax: (757) 595-1842
ExDiriSDI@aol.com

* Planning Committee Member

Dr. Lowell A. Goldsmith and Dr. Virginia Sybert also served on the Planning Committee.